Advice from the Newlyweds: Tinder

Not long ago my friend Donna (Advice From The “Newly Engaged”) and I were discussing the merits and pitfalls of dating in our 20’s.  We have both had some pretty varied experiences, but our conversation kept coming back to Tinder.  So, as a recently married woman who has had plenty of relationships with zero attempts at online dating, I asked her to weigh in and she had this to say.

Tinder, I’m Falling In Love
At the age of 24, I feel I am an anomaly by being married already. I love my husband, and would change nothing. I spent most of my college career single, chasing boys and shots. I met my husband my freshman year, but did not start dating him until my senior year, so I understand that it can take time for a relationship to click! However, there is one thing my generation seems to love that I cannot wrap my mind around: Tinder.

Tinder became poplar right as I left the dating scene, so my personal experience with the technology is limited. I understand how it works and its convenience. I moved to a new place and had a hard time making friends, so I can appreciate how the app helps connect you to people. I just have one question: does it take away the mystery of the experience?

If you are looking for a quick hookup, then I completely understand. I judge no one who uses Tinder. My husband and I ended up together through a series of convoluted events brought to us by the roller coaster of life – 3 years after we met drunk at a party. It was a long, hard road to get there. The night my husband and I discussed the possibility of taking our friendship to the next level, I was actually stood up by another guy. That was the best thing that ever happened to me.

After 3 years of wondering if we would ever connect, it happened. As I reflect on that evening, the entire experience seems surreal or other worldly that the stars all lined up so we could be together; it’s mystical. Do people have that when they date someone on Tinder?

So there you have it. Personally, I think that apps like Tinder, that are more hook up apps than dating apps, take away all mystery and excitement of meeting someone in real life.

 

Leave a comment